Friday, December 10, 2010

Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse - Dark Night Of The Soul

I'll start this review saying that sadly this is a 2010 album, this was supposed to be one of the great albums of 2009, it was ready to go when record label EMI decided to shot everything down because of a legal dispute they had with Brian Joseph Burton (Danger Mouse) perhaps because he signed another record label (Lex Records).

Danger Mouse is a producer famous for mixing "The White Album" of The Beatles and "The Black Album" of Jay-Z to create the gray album, also producer of the second LP of Gorillaz and was one of the pushers of this project.

The other half was Mark Linkous (front man of Sparklehorse), a lo-fi indie rock band from the U.S. with more than a decade making music.

These two talents joined up to make this music project called Dark Night of The Soul, it also had a book with pictures of director David Lynch which was supposed to be the visual narrative of the LP.

The book came out and the album didn't (because of the legal argue), the album was thought to never be released.

In may of this year Mark Linkous committed suicide, and EMI suddenly announced that they would make the album a summer album record and it would be a post mortem LP of Sparklehorse's front man.

The thing is that big record labels always say they can f*!ck the talent and the artists because they have the power, and then they wonder why the really good artists that want to do their own thing prefer a little label.

Talking more about the album and less about the controversy, this album has a very great collaborations, not only the concept was interesting, but the people involved in the songs and the production were very elite. They had collaborations with The Flaming Lips on the opening song and from there things keep interesting, teaming up with other people like Julian Casablancas, Iggy Pop, Nina Persson, James Mercer, David Lynch and the list goes on. Its really an interesting LP that you should listen to.

Check out the cool Website.


1. Revenge (feat. Wayne Coyne)
2. Just War (feat. Gruff Rhys)
3. Jaykub (feat. Jason Lytle)
4. Little Girl (feat. Julian Casablancas)
5. Angel's Harp (feat. Black Francis)
6. Pain (feat. Iggy Pop)
7. Star Eyes (I Can Catch It) (feat. James Mercer)
8. Everytime I'm With You (feat. Jason Lytle)
9. Insane Lullaby (feat. James Mercer)
10. Daddy's Gone (feat. Nina Persson)
11. The Man Who Played God (feat. Nina Persson)
12. Grain Augury (feat. Vic Chesnutt)
13. Dark Night Of The Soul (feat. David Lynch)

Rate: 8/10

Download It!

No comments:

Post a Comment