Sunday, December 12, 2010

Dum Dum Girls - I Will Be

Dum Dum Girls is an all female band from LA with a garage sound that doesn't necessarily can be considered a garage rock band, and this LP shows a lot of influences; you can clearly have the sconce that this band is taking music from post punk bands like Black Tambourine, or shoegaze stuff like The Jesus And Mary Chain with indie noise pop like The Vaselines. Of course also The Ramones and The Ronettes, making the genre a little bit shoegaze and noise pop than a really indie pop or post punk related album.

Still the production makes this garage project sound very good, with a well managed reverb of the guitars and good tone of the echoes that makes the singing just pop out, the female vocals on top sound loud and the background create the shoegaze feeling creating harmonic noise on top of the guitars and drums.

But despite the fact that the influential line is very clear, the Dum Dum Girls don't really commit to it 100% because it's hard to know if the pop is on top or the shoegaze instrumentation and noise is the main thing, that's why its not easy to say what the Dum Dum Girls are about in this LP, its a perfect introduction to shoegaze to those that think that Black Tambourine or The Jesus And Mary Chain are too noisy, because they put it down a little bit and let the pop thing going on be more intelligible.


1. It Only Takes One Night
2. Bhang Bhang, I'm A Burnout
3. Oh Mein M
4. Jail La La
5. Rest Of Our Lives
6. Yours Alone
7. Blank Girl
8. I Will Be
9. Lines Her Eyes
10. Everybody's Out
11. Baby Don't Go

Rate: 7.5/10

Download It!

No comments:

Post a Comment