Monday, December 13, 2010

Delta Spirit - History From Below (2010)

History From Below is the secund Delta Spirit LP and the first to open the band to a wider audience, this is because of the quality of the recording and the concept overall. They used to explore with unconventional sounds, but this time they get their act together and you don't find strange experimental sounds but you can deffenetly expect a vintage american rock vibe, you can listen the Springfield and Tom Waits Influences. Even the sound is very tom waits sometimes, this is because of the recording, made in Cotati, CA where Waits recorded some of his LP's.

The album is inspired on the Howard Zinn’s novel “A People’s History of The United States”, and the lyrics are full of romantic, political and human storys. This LP has a lot of high points, the energetic single "Bushwick Blues" has the fast sentiment, and also very dense ballands like "Devil Knows You're Dead" that really get as deep as they can get.

This album demonstrate that this band is beyond ordinary.


1. 911
2. Bushwick Blues
3. Salt In The Wound
4. White Table
5. Ransom Man
6. Devil Knows You're Dead
7. Golden State
8. Scarecrow
9. Vivian
10. St. Francis
11. Ballad Of Vitaly

Rate: 8.3/10

Google That Shit!

No comments:

Post a Comment