Thursday, December 9, 2010

Laurie Anderson - Homeland (2010)

This is now a Grammy nominated Album called Homeland of American avant-garde Singer-Songwriter/Performance Artist/Instrument Creator/Midi Controller Creator/Composer Laurie Anderson, she's also known for being the wife of rock sensation (Velvet Underground's front man) Lou Reed.

Laurie Anderson always has been very experimental in everything she does, and this LP is no exceptions, she goes from techno beats to very ambient stuff, but what I loved the most was the song writing, taking tracks like "Another day in America" that talks about capitalist society and family, and divorce of old parents waiting for their children to die to finally be free, philosophy, polititics, economy.

This LP makes a portrait of issues that specially 2009 and 2010 have had, such as economical crisis and the possibility of questioning capitalism with songs like "Only an Expert". I'm sure this necessity of talking about the issue really gives meaning to the fact of being an artist, looking art as a form of raising issues and a true representation of the time in which is made.

Sadly music today tends to be simple, that's why albums like this that have long songs of spoken word and strange experimentations don't tend to have the recognition they deserve, but I strongly recommend everyone to at least consider it; this is a perfect Laurie Anderson's LP.

The LP its also made under the image of Fenway Bergamot that is the male alter ego of Anderson, so she manipulated her voice sometimes to sound like a deep male voice in order to respect the aesthetic under which it was being made. Visually wonderful, impecable concept, amazing production, all lined up to make the perfect record.

Another thing that you can find interesting is the list of guests that go from Lou Reed to Antony, so this is something you should definitely hear, I can't recommend it enough.

Here's a little video on Laurie explaining the process of making the LP and you can also listen the official remixes of song "Only an Expert", a public remix contest.

Laurie Anderson Remix Contest Winner's Profile Songs


1. Transitory Life
2. My Right Eye
3. Thinking of You
4. Strange Perfumes
5. Only an Expert
6. Falling
7. Another Day in America
8. Bodies In Motion
9. Dark Time In The Revolution
10. The Lake
11. The Beginning of Memory
12. Flow

Rate: 8.5/10

Google That Shit!

No comments:

Post a Comment