Thursday, December 9, 2010

Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (2010)

Gil Scott-Heron is a poet, musician, and published author, his music is always a mix of soul, jazz and blues and he's lyrics are mostly of social and political issues.

His personal life goes from acclaimed protest man to jail time server for possession of cocaine, so everything he says you can believe that it comes from a real place.

2010 was a good year for this over 70 year old artists, not only because his album has been critically clamed, but also because one of the biggest realises of the year featured the last song with another one of his 70's creation "Comment #1"; I’m talking about Kanye's last song "Who Will Survive In America" closing the Dark Twisted Fantasy.

Scott-Heron was in the 70's a prophet of the bad times coming, and today, the rebirth of Scott-Heron is more than opportune, also the fact that is a spoken word album, gives you the feel as if reading through lines, like going to church, like listening a very wise man talking about life and serious sh*!t.

A Remix by Chris Cunningham was used for a video-art that was shown in MoMA earlier this year, you can check it out below.

1. On Coming From A Broken Home (Part 1)
2. Me And The Devil
3. I'm New Here
4. Your Soul And Mine
5. Parents (Interlude)
6. I'll Take Care Of You
7. Being Blessed (Interlude)
8. Where Did The Night Go
9. I Was Guided (Interlude)
10. New York Is Killing Me
11. Certain Things (Interlude)
12. Running
13. The Crutch
14. I've Been Me (Interlude)
15. On Coming From A Broken Home (Part 2)

Rate: 7.8/10

Download It!

No comments:

Post a Comment